Friday, 13 October 2017

A symbolic opportunity for the European Council

The European Council (EUCO) meets 19 and 20 October 2017 to agree on how to respond to the reform impulses for the future of Europe. The EUCO president Donald Tusk is consulting with the EU27 heads of state or government to present a “Leaders’ Agenda”.
President Macron has told the public that France is going to recognise the symbols of the European Union, including the European flag with twelve stars,  at the EUCO meeting next week. This probably means a notification to join the declaration 52 by 16 EU member states annexed to the treaties (page 355):

Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Greece, Spain, Italy, Cyprus, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Hungary, Malta, Austria, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia and the Slovak Republic declare that the flag with a circle of twelve golden stars on a blue background, the anthem based on the "Ode to Joy" from the Ninth Symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven, the motto "United in diversity", the euro as the currency of the European Union and Europe Day on 9 May will for them continue as symbols to express the sense of community of the people in the European Union and their allegiance to it.

This offers an opportunity for ten remaining EU27 members to show engagement for the European Union they have designed, putting themselves at the centre, namely: Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Ireland, Latvia, the Netherlands, Poland and Sweden.

Ralf Grahn

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due deluge of spam comments no more comments are accepted.

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.