Saturday 21 November 2009

New EU leaders ─ roundup

On the one hand, we have seen the official optimism beamed from the European Council after the choice of its new president and the EU high representative for foreign affairs and security policy. On the other hand, both fervent Europeans and rabid anti-Europeans have commented, many critically.

Meta roundup

Here is a meta roundup, a selection roundups, for those who want quick access to various reactions.

An extensive roundup of comments can be accessed through Erkan’s Field Diary, Erkan Saka: Herman Van Rompuy, the new EU President; Baroness Ashton, the new EU Foreign Affairs Minister (20 November 2009).

A lively community debate is display on the web site of the European Tribune: Europe is doomed! Special ‘Nobodies’ Edition (20 November 2009).

Julien Frisch has brief comments and links to a number of blog comments in: Europe in blogs – Euroblogs (11): Herman Van Rompuy & Catherine Ashton (21 Novemver 2009).

Individual comments

Here are only a few of the individual comments that caught my eye. Many more would be worth highlighting, but go to for a more extensive look and for updates.

Jean Quatremer on Coulisses de Bruxelles was not amused, in: UE : Président pour la déco (20 November 2009) (or in the other comments on his blog).

For a thoughtful comment on the tasks ahead for the European Union and the selected leadership duo you can read, European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR), Daniel Korski: Europe’s new leaders (20 November 2009).

Another quiet reflection on the chosen leaders for the European Council and EU foreign policy is offered by, European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR), Ulrike Guérot: After all the horse-trading, the final two (20 November 2009).

Ralf Grahn

P.S. Do you find EUSSR myths fascinating? Are we EU citizens worth a better European Union? Read the 481 Euroblogs aggregated on multilingual, and discuss our common European future.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due deluge of spam comments no more comments are accepted.

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.